86 views 2 min 0 Comment

Supreme Court Justices Drop To 10

- October 23, 2023

The Justices on the bench of the Supreme Court has been reduced to 10 with the retirement from the court of Justice Musa Dattijo Muhammad, on Friday, October 27, 2023.

The retirement notice served on the Court’s management by Justice Dattijo will lapse on the date when a befitting special valedictory court session will be held in his honour to mark the retirement.

A statement yesterday in Abuja by the Court’s Director of Press and Information, Dr Akande Aweneri Festus indicated that the valedictory session will hold at the Main Courtroom of the Court by10 am.

According to the statement, the Special Court Session is to be presided over by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, who will customarily, pay tribute to Justice Musa Dattijo alongside other major stakeholders in the nation’s justice sector.

Justice Dattijo earned a well-deserved elevation to the Court of Appeal on 21st November, 1998 from the Niger State Judiciary, and served meritoriously at different Divisions.

He took the oath of office as Justice of the Supreme Court on Tuesday, 10th July, 2012. His ascension to the Court of Appeal was more of a reward for hard work, inherent passion for his chosen profession, dedication to duty, and above all, a resolute application of the law in its true letters and words to all cases that came to him.

“With the retirement of Justice Musa Dattijo Muhammad, the Supreme Court of Nigeria is now left with 10 Justices”, the statement said.

Share this post