136 views 5 min 0 Comment

Overflow of defeats for incumbent at Lagos primaries

- May 30, 2022

Shock is an understatement to describe the results of primaries held by the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State.

The incumbents, some of whom have become institutions in their constituencies, were disgracefully defeated.

Their challengers uprooted their firm grip on the party members that produced the delegates.

Some of those defeated have been accused of not representing their constituencies well in the House of Assembly and House of Representatives.

The worst among the incumbents that lost at the primary election is Rasheed Makinde, who is representing Ifako-Ijaiye Constituency 2. Makinde couldn’t muster a single vote. Emmanuel Olotu won with 17 votes, while Prince Adebola Ademola came a distant second with five votes. Yemisi Rosiji, Bisi Ogungbemi and Omoyele Dasuza managed one vote each.

Former two-term Ojokoro Local Council Development Area (LCDA) chairman and ex-aide of Lagos State governor Benjamin Olabinjo defeated the incumbent, James Adisa Owolabi, to claim the Ifako-Ijaiye Federal Constituency ticket.

BAO as Olabinjo is fondly called, polled 35 votes, Owolabi – two votes; a lawmaker, Saka Fafunmi – 14 votes and Adekunle Olayinka – four votes.

In Oshodi-Isolo, Otunba Stephen Olukayode Ogundipe trounced the incumbent, Hakeem Olusola Sokunle, for the Oshodi-Isolo Constituency 1 ticket.

Ogundipe, who got 20 votes as against Sokunle’s four votes, will fly the APC’s flag for the constituency’s assembly seat during the general election.

At Oshodi-Isolo State Constituency 2, the incumbent, Jude Idimogu, failed to win a single vote, losing 30-0 to Ladi Ajomale, son of former state chairman of the party, Chief Henry Ajomale.

It was the end of an era in Mushin State and Federal Constituency 2, as both incumbents seeking third term in office were defeated by their challengers.

Bolaji Yusuf Ayinla popularly called BYA, with two votes, lost to former Special Adviser to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu on Transport, Toyin Fayinka, who garnered 18 votes. Former Mushin Local Government Chairman and APC Lagos State Publicity Secretary, Seye Oladejo, scored eight votes.

Former Mushin Local Government Sole Administrator, Yinka Esho-Kazeem, defeated incumbent lawmaker, AbduSobur Olayiwola Olawale popularly called Omititi with 16 votes to 11 votes for the assembly ticket.

A son of Minister of Information and Culture, Folajimi Mohammed, representing Ikeja Constituency 1, lost out to Seyi Lawal in the primary election.

In Lagos Island State Constituency 2, it was a close battle between incumbent Lanre Afinnih and his predecessor, Sola Giwa, but Giwa was victorious with 29 votes to 20 votes for Afinnih.

In Amuwo-Odofin State Constituency 1, Mojisola Alli-Macaulay, popularly called Mama Amuwo, lost to Olaitan Folorunsho, getting only four votes to her opponent’s 12 votes. Another aspirant, Prince Eniola Ado, polled four votes.

Former Secretary of the APC Lagos State chapter, Lanre Ogunyemi, got 28 votes to beat his nearest rival and former Chairman of Otto-Awori Local Council Development Area, Kayode Roberts, with 14 votes.

Prince Kayode Moshood Akiolu, lawmaker representing Lagos Island Federal Constituency 2, defeated Saheed Adegboyega Salawe, with 34 votes to 16 votes.

It was a double loss for the Obanikoros, as former minister of State for Defence, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro, lost Lagos West Senatorial District ticket to former Lagos State Deputy Governor Dr. Idiat Adebule.

His son, Babajide Obanikoro, an incumbent House of Representatives member was defeated by Oba Saheed Elegushi of Ikate’s brother, Oyekanmi Elegushi, by two votes for the Eti-Osa Federal Constituency 1. Elegushi polled 25 votes, Obanikoro had 23 votes.

Senator Obanikoro angrily left Agege Stadium venue of the Lagos West Senatorial District Primary Election after his votes were counted.

Dr. Adebule, a grassroots mobiliser, inflicted heavy defeat on him.

She polled 424 votes, while Obanikoro had 119 votes.

For Lagos Central Senatorial District, Deputy Speaker of Lagos State House of Assembly Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni, score 185 votes to beat his closest rival and Nigeria’s Ambassador to Spain, Ademola Seriki, who got 94 votes.

Senator Tokunbo Abiru won the Lagos East Senatorial District.

Share this post