223 views 3 min 0 Comment

June 12: Soyinka, Tinubu, Atiku, Obi, Utomi, Agbakoba, Falana, Sani, Ezekwesili to pay tributes to Abiola on Sunday

- June 11, 2022

Pro-democracy activists across Nigeria will on Sunday pay tributes to the widely acclaimed June 12 1993 winner presidential election, Chief Moshood Abiola by activists in the mould of Prof Wole Soyinka, Olisa Agbakoba, Bola Tinubu, Peter Obi, Atiku Abubakar, Femi Falana and other critical stakeholders.

TheNewsGuru .com, (TNG) reports this was contained in a statement signed by Prof Anthony Kila Chairman, Organising Committee.

June 12 Democracy Day Celebration is in commemoration of the Annual Anniversary of the June 12 DEMOCRACY Day, the June 12 Democracy Movement of Nigeria convened by Eminent Pro Democracy Compatriots, wishes to announce that it shall be hosting eminent Nigerians and Pro Democracy Activists on Sunday, June 12, 2022 at the Residence of MKO Abiola, the winner of the Presidential elections of June 12, 1993, who died in military incarceration for refusing to renounce the historic mandate freely given to him by Nigerians

This historic event, which will be hosted at MKO Abiola Family Compound in Lagos named in 2015 as Nigeria’s Democracy Centre by the June 12 Movement, is aimed to compliment the official recognition of June 12 by the Federal Government as Nigeria’s Democracy Day arising from the Martyrdom of MKO Abiola.

To this end, the historic event is expected to witness Prayers, Tributes, Roll Calls of Honour of Heroes and Heroines of Nigeria’s Democracy, and the Laying of a Wreath of Honour in memory of the Martyrdom of MKO Abiola to honour the sacrifice of his precious life to defend the mandate of the Nigerian people freely given to him on June 12, 1993, which is generally adjudged as a major catalyst to birthing the current Democratic rule in Nigeria.

Some of the eminent Nigerians invited to Speak and pay Tributes at the event themed “Hope 93 & June 12 Elections: Lessons for Credible Elections in 2023” are Prof Wole Soyinka, Chairman of the Occasion, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Waziri Atiku Abubakar, Mr. Peter Obi, Chief Ayo Adebanjo, General Alani Akinriade, Prof Pat Utomi, Dr. Olisa Agbakoba, SAN, Barr Femi Falana, SAN, Barr Mike Ozekhome SAN, Dr. Oby Ezekwesili, Senator Shehu Sanni, Chief Dele Momodu among others already invited to the event. Similarly, Invitations have been sent to all Pro June 12 Governors and Stakeholders to speak and pay tributes at the event with the Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwoolu as Chief Host of the day.

However, due to the subsisting Covid 19 protocols, this year’s anniversary celebration is being organized as a hybrid event to accommodate more participants online via Zoom from 11 am, as this year’s anniversary celebration is also billed to witness the annual Roll Calls of Honours for distinguished Nigerians nominated as Heroes and Heroines of the Nigerian Democracy.

Share this post